current time and date
currency: Euro (EUR)
Official languages
Life expectancy
Literacy rate
National anthem
Internet TLD & calling code:
Coat of arms
Apollo Hylates Sanctuary - Pictures

Photo: Wknight 94 License: CC
Cyprus profile
the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea (after Sicily and Sardinia)
Cyprus history
A former British colony, Cyprus became independent in 1960 following years of resistance to British rule. Tensions between the Greek Cypriot majority and Turkish Cypriot minority came to a head in December 1963, when violence broke out in the capital of Nicosia. Despite the deployment of UN peacekeepers in 1964, sporadic intercommunal violence continued forcing most Turkish Cypriots into enclaves throughout the island. In 1974, a Greek Government-sponsored attempt to seize control of Cyprus was met by military intervention from Turkey, which soon controlled more than a third of the island. In 1983, the Turkish Cypriot-occupied area declared itself the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" ("TRNC"), but it is recognized only by Turkey. The election of a new Cypriot president in 2008 served as the impetus for the UN to encourage both the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot communities to reopen unification negotiations. In September 2008, the leaders of the two communities began discussions under UN auspices aimed at reuniting the divided island. The talks are ongoing. The entire island entered the EU on 1 May 2004, although the EU acquis - the body of common rights and obligations - applies only to the areas under the internationally recognized government, and is suspended in the areas administered by Turkish Cypriots. However, individual Turkish Cypriots able to document their eligibility for Republic of Cyprus citizenship legally enjoy the same rights accorded to other citizens of European Union states.
interesting Cyprus facts
Conventional long form: Republic of Cyprus

Conventional short form: Cyprus

Local long form: Kypriaki Dimokratia/Kibris Cumhuriyeti

Local short form: Kypros/Kibris
fun Cyprus facts for kids
Cyprus's capital city is Nicosia (Lefkosia/Lefkosa)
amazing Cyprus facts
Cyprus Constitution:

16 August 1960
Cyprus facts for kids
Cyprus population growth rate: 1.571%
Cyprus facts for kids
Cyprus highest point: Mount Olympus 1,951 m
interesting Cyprus facts for kids
Cyprus lowest point: Mediterranean Sea 0 m
fun Cyprus facts for kids
About 11% of Cyprus's land is arable.
Cyprus fun facts for kids
Pedieos River is the Longest River in Cyprus
Cyprus fun facts for kids
Cyprus birth rate is 11 births/1,000 population
Cyprus fun facts for kids
Cyprus infant mortality rate is 9 deaths/1,000 live births
Cyprus fun facts for kids
Cyprus fertility rate is 1.46 children born/woman
Cyprus fun facts for kids
Cyprus climate:


Mediterranean with hot, dry summers and cool winters
interesting Cyprus facts
Top 10 cities of Cyprus with populations (2012 est.) are:
1. Nicosia: 239,277
2. Limassol: 183,656
3. Larnaca: 143,367
4. Famagusta: 42,526
5. Paphos: 32,754
6. Kyrenia: 26,701
7. Protaras: 20,230
8. Morphou: 14,833
9. Aradhippou: 13,349
10. Paralimni:
Cyprus fun facts for kids
Cyprus ethnic groups:

Greek - 77%
Turkish - 18%
other - 5%
interesting Cyprus facts
Cyprus Exports:

citrus, potatoes, pharmaceuticals, cement, clothing
interesting Cyprus facts
Cyprus Imports:

consumer goods, petroleum and lubricants, machinery, transport equipment
interesting Cyprus facts
unicameral - area under government control: House of Representatives or Vouli Antiprosopon (80 seats; 56 assigned to the Greek Cypriots, 24 to Turkish Cypriots; note - only those assigned to Greek Cypriots are filled; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms); area administered by Turkish Cypriots: Assembly of the Republic or Cumhuriyet Meclisi (50 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)

Administrative Divisions:
6 districts

1. Ammochostos (Famagusta; all but a small part controlled by Turkish Cyprus)
2. Keryneia (Kyrenia; the only district completely controlled by Turkish Cyprus)
3. Larnaka (Larnaca; a small part controlled by Turkish Cyprus)
4. Lemesos (Limassol)
5. Lefkosia (Nicosia; a small part controlled by Turkish Cyprus)
6. Pafos (Paphos)

note - the five districts of Turkish Cyprus are
1. Gazimagusa (Famagusta)
2. Girne (Kyrenia)
3. Guzelyurt (Morphou)
4. Lefkosia (Nicosia) and
5. Iskele (Trikomo)
Political parties and leaders:
area under government control:

Democratic Party (DIKO) - Marios KAROYIAN
Democratic Rally (DISY) - Nikos ANASTASIADES
European Party (EURO.KO) - Demetris SYLLOURIS
Fighting Democratic Movement (ADIK) - Dinos MIKHAILIDES
Green Party of Cyprus - George PERDIKIS
Movement for Social Democrats (EDEK) - Yiannakis OMIROU
Progressive Party of the Working People (AKEL) (Communist Party) - Andros KYPRIANOU
United Democrats (EDI) - Praxoula ANTONIADOU

area administered by Turkish Cypriots:

Communal Democracy Party (TDP) - Mehmet CAKICI
Cyprus Socialist Party (KSP) - Yusuf ALKIM
Democratic Party (DP) - Serdar DENKTAS
Freedom and Reform Party (ORP) - Turgay AVCI
National Unity Party (UBP) - Irsen KUCUK
Nationalist Justice Party (MAP) - Ata TEPE
New Cyprus Party (YKP) - Murat KANATLI
Politics for the People Party (HIS) - Ahmet YONLUER
Republican Turkish Party (CTP) - Ferdi Sabit SOYER
United Cyprus Party (BKP) - Izzet IZCAN